The Totem Online

DUI Details

Rebecca Donaldson, Copy Editor

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.


Email This Story






Ranking fourth in the nation, Kansas is among the top strictest states regarding DUI laws. The states were ranked on a point system comparing how strict they were on 15 subjects: minimum fine, minimum jail time, ignition interlock mandations, insurance rates, etc.

The average Blood Alcohol Content for a drunk driver is .15, or nearly twice the minimum limit of .08 (Kansas Bureau of Investigation). Which means when charged with a DUI, the driver has consumed several drinks before operating the motor vehicle.

To maintain a BAC below the legally impaired limit, 0.08, an hour should pass before consuming a second ‘standard’ drink. Drinks categorized as standard are a 12 ounce can of beer, five ounces of wine, or one and a half ounces of distilled spirits (BACTrack).

Although 0.08 marks the legal minimum of blood alcohol content, an arrest can occur while under the limit. If an officer deems the driver “noticeably impaired” or they are under the age of 21, they could face DUI charges.

Because the Kansas statute defines a DUI as “operating or attempting to operate” a vehicle while under the influence, a motorist in the state of Kansas can be charged with a DUI without movement of the vehicle.

 

Statistics:

DUI First Offense:

  • 48 hours in jail up to 6 months in jail
  • Fines up to $1,000
  • License suspended for up to one year with additional driving restrictions
  • Ignition Interlock for up to one year
  • Substance abuse treatment

 

From Kansas Traffic Safety Resource Office

DUI Second Offense:

  • 120 hours to 12 months in jails
  • Fines from $1,250 to $1,750
  • License suspended for one year
  • One year Ignition Interlock

From DUI.DrivingLaws

 

Jury Determining Factors:

  • location of the driver
  • location of the car
  • location of the keys
  • whether the car’s engine was running, and
  • whether the driver was awake or asleep.

 

If no injuries, a typical DUI will cost the offender $10,000:

  • Fines, court cost, bail
  • Attorney fee
  • Substance Abuse Treatment
  • Increased Auto Insurance
  • License Reinstatement fee
  • Ignition interlock setup
  • Interlock monthly fee

From Kansas Traffic Safety Resource Office

 

Kansas Bureau of Investigation:

About 80 to 100 people die every year in Kansas due to an impaired driver.

 

In 2017, 83 adults arrested with DUI in Shawnee County.

 

The state records between 8,500 and 10,000 DUI arrests every year.

In 2017, there were 1,993 alcohol-related crashed, killing a total of 90 people.

 

https://dui.drivinglaws.org/resources/kansas-second-offense-dui.htm

 

https://dui.drivinglaws.org/kansas.php

 

https://dui.drivinglaws.org/resources/can-i-get-a-dui-for-sitting-in-a-parked-car-while-drunk.html

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Leave a Comment

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar.




The School Newspaper of Shawnee Heights High School
DUI Details